Génie Artificiel
Français

How to Build an App Without Coding in 2026: No-Code and AI App Builders Compared

Lovable, Bolt, Replit, Bubble, Glide, Softr: which tool to build an app without coding in 2026, by project type, with verified pricing, free plans and limits.

Contents
  1. What Changed Since 2025
  2. No-Code vs. Vibe Coding: What’s the Difference?
  3. Which Tool for Which Project?
  4. AI App Builders
  5. Classic No-Code Tools
  6. Comparison Table: Pricing, Free Plans and Code Export
  7. What Does an App Built Without Code Really Cost?
  8. Limits to Know Before You Start
  9. When to Move to Cursor or Mistral Vibe
  10. How to Get Started in 5 Steps
  11. FAQ

In 2026, there are two ways to build an app without writing code: visual no-code tools (Bubble, Webflow, Glide, Softr, Airtable), where you assemble building blocks, and AI app builders (Lovable, Bolt, Replit, v0, Base44, Google AI Studio), where you describe the app in plain English and AI writes the code for you. Almost all of them have a free plan to try; publishing a real app on your own domain typically starts at $15 to $60 a month (prices checked Sept. 25, 2026).

This guide is for freelancers, founders and business teams: which tool fits which project (website, internal tool, mobile app, SaaS), what the plans cost, the limits to know about (security, data, platform lock-in, code export), and when to move to a developer tool like Cursor. Pricing and features come from each tool’s official pages, linked throughout.

What Changed Since 2025

The first version of this article (May 2025) was mostly about Bubble, Zapier and Webflow. Since then:

  • “Vibe coding” became the front door. The term, coined by Andrej Karpathy in February 2025 (Wikipedia), means describing an app to an AI without reading the code it produces. Lovable, Bolt, Replit Agent, v0 and Base44 generate a complete web app (interface, database, user sign-in) from a prompt.
  • Classic no-code tools added their own AI. Glide launched GlideOS, a new AI-first platform, on August 3, 2026 (Glide blog); Softr and Airtable now generate an app from a description.
  • Firebase Studio is shutting down. Google announced the sunset on March 19, 2026; sign-ups closed June 22, 2026, and remaining data will be deleted on March 22, 2027. Google points users to Google AI Studio (Firebase docs).
  • Builder.ai went under. The “AI-assisted” app-building company announced insolvency proceedings on May 20, 2025 (Tech.eu), a reminder of what depending on a single vendor can cost.

We removed the market-size figures and “success stories” from the 2025 version because we couldn’t trace them to a verifiable primary source.

No-Code vs. Vibe Coding: What’s the Difference?

  • Visual no-code: you build the app in an editor (drag and drop, tables, “if this, then that” rules). The app runs on the platform’s servers, and there’s usually no code to take with you. Slower to learn, but everything stays visible and editable by hand.
  • AI app builders (vibe coding): you describe what you want, and the AI generates a real codebase (usually React, with a Supabase-style or built-in database) that you then refine by chatting. First result in minutes, code often exportable, but you inherit code you may not understand.
  • Automation (Zapier, Make, n8n): not apps as such, but workflows that connect your tools (a form submission creates a CRM record, sends an email, and so on).

Low-code (Microsoft Power Apps, FlutterFlow, Retool…) sits in between: a visual editor that lets you add code when needed.

Which Tool for Which Project?

Your projectGood fitsWhy
Marketing site or landing pageWebflow; Lovable or v0 for speedDesign control and hosting included (Webflow); prompt-based generation (Lovable, v0)
Internal tool on existing data (spreadsheet, CRM)Softr, Glide, AirtableConnect to your data, handle user permissions
Automating tasks between appsZapier, Make, n8nThousands of connectors, no app to build
Mobile app on the App Store and Google PlayFlutterFlow, Bubble; Bolt or Replit (via Expo)Store publishing built into paid plans
Prototype or first version of a SaaSLovable, Bolt, Replit, Base44; Bubble to stay visualDatabase, user accounts and payments generated or built in
Small app powered by Google’s AI (Gemini)Google AI StudioFree to use in AI Studio, deploys to Google Cloud

Rule of thumb: if your data already lives in a spreadsheet or CRM, start with Softr, Glide or Airtable. If you’re starting from a product idea, an AI app builder gets you to a prototype fastest. If the app needs to last and grow, check up front that you can export the code.

AI App Builders

Lovable: The Easiest Path to a Full Web App

Lovable builds web apps from a conversation, with hosting, database and authentication built in (Lovable Cloud). The free plan gives you 5 credits a day, capped at 30 a month; Pro costs $25 a month for 100 credits ($21 a month billed annually), and Business $50 (Lovable plans, checked Sept. 25, 2026). Each message uses credits based on complexity: Lovable’s examples range from 0.50 credits to change a button’s color to 1.70 for a landing page with images (Lovable pricing).

Lovable says you own your code. Git sync with GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket works even on the free plan; downloading the code and custom domains require a paid plan.

Bolt: A Prototype in Your Browser

Bolt generates and runs the app right in the browser, with hosting and databases included. Free: 1 million tokens a month (300,000 a day max), with Bolt branding on sites; Pro: $25 a month, starting at 10 million tokens, with a custom domain and rollover of unused tokens; Teams: $30 per member (Bolt pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). You can download the code as a ZIP, and Bolt uses Expo for iPhone and Android apps (Bolt help).

Replit Agent: All the Way to Deployment

Replit is an online development environment whose agent builds, tests and publishes your app. The free Starter plan includes daily Agent credits in “Lite” mode and a single published app that goes offline after 30 days and carries a “Made with Replit” badge (Replit docs). Full build mode, connectors (Stripe, Google…) and apps that stay online require Core at $20 a month ($18 billed annually), plus tax depending on location; Pro is $100 (Replit pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

v0 by Vercel: React Interfaces and Sites

v0, from Vercel, generates interfaces and web apps in React, deploys them to Vercel and syncs with GitHub. Free: $5 of credits a month and 7 messages a day; Plus: $30 per user per month, before tax (v0 pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). Training opt-out is only on by default starting with the Business plan ($100).

Base44: All-in-One, Owned by Wix

Base44, owned by Wix, generates apps with a built-in database, authentication and hosting. Free: 25 message credits a month and 5 apps; Starter: $16 a month billed annually, with a custom domain. GitHub sync, which exports the full source code, starts on the Builder plan ($40 a month billed annually) (Base44 pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Google AI Studio: Free Prototyping With Gemini

Google AI Studio’s Build mode creates full-stack web apps (React and Node.js) or native Android apps, with Firestore and Google sign-in; code syncs to GitHub or downloads as a ZIP, and apps deploy to Cloud Run (Google docs). Using AI Studio is free; Gemini API calls made by your app once shared, and hosting on Google Cloud, are billed at Google’s rates (Gemini API pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). It’s where Google is sending Firebase Studio users.

Classic No-Code Tools

Bubble: Complex Web and Mobile Apps

Bubble is still the most complete visual platform for apps with real business logic (marketplaces, communities, SaaS), and now builds native mobile apps too. The free plan only covers the development version; putting your app live or on the app stores requires at least Starter at $59 a month billed annually, with 175,000 workload units (Bubble pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). Key point: a Bubble app only runs on Bubble, with no code export; only your data can be exported, as CSV or through the API (Bubble docs).

Webflow: Marketing Sites and Content

Webflow is for building design-precise websites, with a CMS for blog posts or listings. The free Starter plan is limited to a webflow.io domain, 2 static pages and 50 form submissions; Basic is $15 a month billed yearly (custom domain), Premium $25 with the CMS, plus tax (Webflow pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). Exporting HTML, CSS and JavaScript requires a paid Workspace plan and leaves out CMS content and forms (Webflow help).

Glide (GlideOS): Business Apps From a Spreadsheet

Glide turns spreadsheets and databases (Google Sheets, Excel, Airtable, Salesforce…) into desktop and mobile apps. GlideOS, launched in August 2026, is a separate product from the original Glide (“Glide Classic”). Free: 2 members and 10 projects, with no published apps; Basic: $25 a month for 2 published apps (Glide pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Softr: Client Portals and Internal Tools

Softr builds client portals, intranets and internal tools, with a database, workflows and AI generation. The free plan allows unlimited apps with 5 AI credits a month; Basic is $19 a month billed yearly (custom domain), Pro $99 (Softr pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Airtable: A Database That Works as an App

Airtable is a spreadsheet-database with interfaces, automations and AI. Free: 1,000 records per base, up to 5 editors, 500 AI credits per editor per month; Team: $20 per user per month billed annually, $24 monthly (Airtable plans, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Zapier, Make and n8n: Automation Without Code

  • Zapier: free for 100 tasks a month and two-step Zaps; Professional from $19.99 a month billed annually (Zapier pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).
  • Make: free for 1,000 credits a month and 2 active scenarios; Core from $9 a month for 10,000 credits (Make pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).
  • n8n: free to self-host (Community Edition); in the cloud, Starter is €20 a month billed annually for 2,500 executions (n8n lists prices in euros), with a free trial (n8n pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Zapier is the easiest to learn, Make the cheapest to start, and n8n can run free on your own server if you can manage one. Zapier also appears in our AI productivity tools roundup.

FlutterFlow: Native Mobile Apps

FlutterFlow, a low-code tool built on Google’s Flutter, targets real iOS and Android apps. The free plan is limited to 2 projects with no code download; Basic is $39 a month and adds code download and one-click publishing to the App Store and Google Play (FlutterFlow pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Comparison Table: Pricing, Free Plans and Code Export

ToolTypeFree planStarting priceCode export
LovableAI web apps5 credits/day (30/month)$25/monthGit sync on Free, download on paid plans
BoltAI web and mobile apps1M tokens/month$25/monthYes (ZIP)
ReplitAI web and mobile appsDaily credits, 1 app for 30 days$20/monthYes
v0React interfaces and apps$5 of credits/month$30/user/monthYes (GitHub)
Base44AI web apps25 messages/month$16/month (annual)GitHub sync from Builder ($40)
Google AI StudioAI web and Android appsAI Studio use is freePay-as-you-go API and hostingYes (GitHub, ZIP)
BubbleNo-code web and mobileDevelopment only$59/month (annual)No
WebflowWebsites2 pages, webflow.io domain$15/month (annual)Partial, Workspace plans
GlideBusiness apps10 projects, no publishing$25/monthNot disclosed
SoftrPortals, internal toolsUnlimited apps, 5 AI credits$19/month (annual)Not disclosed
AirtableDatabase1,000 records/base$20/user/month (annual)Data only
FlutterFlowMobile apps (low-code)2 projects$39/monthYes, from Basic

Prices from the official pages linked above, checked Sept. 25, 2026. Sales tax may be added where applicable.

What Does an App Built Without Code Really Cost?

The entry plan is only part of the bill. Nearly all of these platforms also charge by usage:

  • Generation credits (Lovable, Bolt, v0, Base44, Replit): every AI request uses credits or tokens. An app you tweak often burns through an entry plan quickly, and you’ll need top-ups or a higher tier. Lovable’s Pro tiers go up to $2,250 a month for 10,000 credits (Lovable plans).
  • Hosting and traffic: on Lovable, running a small app is covered by the monthly allowance, but an app that draws traffic uses extra credits; on Bubble, every app action consumes workload units; on Google, Cloud Run hosting and Gemini calls are billed by usage.
  • Automations: Zapier counts tasks, Make counts credits, n8n counts executions. A workflow that runs every minute can blow through a quota on its own.
  • Third-party services: domain name, transactional email, payments (Stripe takes a fee per transaction), and Apple and Google developer accounts to publish a mobile app.

Before committing, turn on spending alerts or caps where the tool offers them (Lovable, for instance, lets you limit each member’s credits), and start with a monthly plan.

Limits to Know Before You Start

Security: Nobody Checks the Generated Code for You

In May 2025, researcher Matt Palmer disclosed CVE-2025-48757: out of 1,645 Lovable-built apps scanned, 170 let anyone read their data without signing in, because their Supabase database lacked access rules (“Row Level Security”) (Matt Palmer’s write-up). The issue isn’t unique to one tool: AI can generate an app that works while leaving data exposed. Before you put personal data or payments in it, have someone who can read code review the security (database access rules, API keys, user permissions), and use the scanning tools on offer (Lovable’s security center is on the Business plan).

Personal Data and AI Training

Depending on the plan, your prompts and code may be used to train models. On Lovable, the opt-out is a per-account setting on Free and Pro, and automatic on Business (Lovable plans); on v0, it’s only on by default from Business up (v0 pricing). If your app handles customer data, also check where it’s hosted and whether the vendor offers a data processing agreement, especially for EU customers (GDPR) or health data.

Platform Lock-In and Code Export

This is the question to ask before choosing: what happens if the tool raises prices or shuts down? A Bubble app can’t leave Bubble; you’d have to rebuild it elsewhere. Webflow exports site code but not CMS content. By contrast, Lovable, Bolt, Base44, v0, Replit and Google AI Studio let you take the code (sometimes only on paid plans), which a developer can pick up. The shutdowns of Builder.ai (2025) and Firebase Studio (2027) show the risk is real.

Agents Can Break What They Built

In July 2025, Replit’s agent deleted the production database of a test project run by Jason Lemkin (SaaStr), despite a code freeze instruction; Replit’s CEO apologized and the company added automatic separation of development and production databases (The Register). The lesson applies to every tool: keep backups, test changes outside the live app, and check what the agent actually changed.

Maintaining the App Over Time

The bigger the app, the more each prompt-driven fix risks breaking something else, and the more credits it costs. An app with paying users needs tests, version history and someone who can read the code.

When to Move to Cursor or Mistral Vibe

AI app builders are made for getting started. A developer tool starts to make sense when:

  • the app has real users, payments or sensitive data;
  • each prompt-driven change is expensive or breaks something else;
  • you want tests, code review and a clean Git history;
  • you’re working with a developer, or learning to read code.

The usual path: export the code to GitHub from Lovable, Bolt, Base44 or v0, then open it in an editor with an AI agent.

  • Cursor: AI code editor and coding agent, free on the Hobby plan (limited requests), $20 a month on Pro (Cursor pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026). The agent reads the project, edits multiple files and runs commands, but every change still needs review.
  • Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat), in Code mode: a European coding agent in the terminal, VS Code or web sessions; the CLI and IDE extension require Pro, at $14.99 a month before tax in the U.S. (Mistral pricing, checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Both assume you’re willing to look at the code: they suit someone who wants to learn, or a developer taking over a prototype.

How to Get Started in 5 Steps

  1. Write the need in one sentence: for whom, to do what, with which data (“an app where my clients book a time slot and get a reminder”).
  2. Pick the tool by project (table above), and check code export and which plan you need to publish.
  3. Build the smallest useful version on the free plan: one screen, one database, one complete flow.
  4. Test with a few real users before adding features, and watch your credit usage.
  5. Before opening to the public, get security and data protection checked, turn on backups and move to a monthly paid plan.

A sample first prompt for an AI app builder, to adapt:

Build a web app for booking appointments at a physical therapy clinic.
Patients create an account, see the week's open slots and book a 30-minute slot.
The therapist sees today's appointments and can block off time slots.
Send a confirmation email after each booking.
Each patient must only be able to see their own appointments.
Clean, mobile-friendly interface in English.

That last access rule isn’t a detail: it’s exactly what the exposed apps of 2025 were missing.

FAQ

Can you really build an app without coding?

Yes, for a website, an internal tool, a simple mobile app or a SaaS prototype. AI app builders (Lovable, Bolt, Replit) turn a description into a working web app. Beyond the prototype stage (payments, sensitive data, lots of users), you need someone who can read and check the code.

What’s the best free tool to build an app?

Google AI Studio is free to use for prototyping; Lovable (5 credits a day), Bolt (1 million tokens a month), Replit, Base44 and v0 also have free plans. To publish for the long term on your own domain, expect a paid plan at $15 to $60 a month depending on the tool (checked Sept. 25, 2026).

Can I publish an app to the App Store without coding?

Yes, with Bubble (paid plans from Starter), FlutterFlow (from Basic), or Bolt and Replit, which use Expo. You’ll also need Apple and Google developer accounts and to pass app store review.

Lovable or Bubble?

Lovable builds an app through conversation, very quickly, and lets you take the code. Bubble takes longer to learn but keeps all the logic visible and editable in its editor; on the other hand, the app can’t leave Bubble. For a fast prototype, Lovable; for a complex app you want to control without code, Bubble.

Do I own the code an AI app builder creates?

With Lovable, yes: it states that the code, projects and customer data belong to the user. Read each tool’s terms, and above all check that you can export the code: that’s what lets you switch tools or hand the app to a developer.

What’s the difference between no-code and vibe coding?

No-code builds the app in a visual editor without producing code you can take away. Vibe coding has an AI write the code from your requests; the code exists, but you don’t necessarily read it. The second is faster to start, the first is easier to control without technical skills.

Type at least two letters.